Salvere Blog: The All or None Approach??

“I’m not eating dessert.”

“I’ve given up carbs.”

“Since I only had 20 minutes, I didn’t workout.”

Do any of these sound familiar??  Why when it comes to exercise and healthy eating do we tend to take an all or none approach?  Are there any other areas we do this and see success?

Think about the approach we take with healthy living — mainly meaning exercise and healthy eating. Much of the mindset surrounds doing it as a task or “have to” with a punishment type mentality.

Meaning, if we say that we are not eating dessert then we eat dessert, what happens? Often the statement “I was bad” or “I cheated last night” … Not statements that feel good or positive internally.

What about exercise? “I HAVE to go to the gym” instead of “I get to go workout” or “I look forward to spending time with my friend walking around the lake.” Or these, “Well, I only did 30 minutes” or even “I did not workout hard enough”.  If you miss a workout or even a week of workouts due to vacation, work, injury or just life, how long does it take you to get back into a routine?

Looking at fitness and nutrition, how can we begin to change this mindset regarding expectations and a bigger purpose to what we do and the goals we set?  Exercise can be any activity that gets your muscles, heart, lungs and joints moving, gets you fresh air and positive endorphins. We are meant to move — Our sedentary lifestyles have created the need for formal structured exercise.

Nutrition brings us to a bigger struggle. We typically change our eating habits so we lose weight — This actually creates unhealthy eating habits and perspective on food. Diet food is not real food. Also, food impacts us on so many more levels then what the scale said. Did you know certain foods can contribute to inflammation (think about arthritis) and pain? Certain foods greatly impact your digestion? Some foods impact mood, focus and energy? Other foods even impact the skin (eczema, psoriasis, hives, etc.).  Pay attention to how you feel when you eat specific things! Find ways to enjoy eating real food!

Find a balance with structure and simply going out and doing/being/living and feeling alive!

by Lisa Martin , owner and trainer at Salvere Health and Fitness. If you’d like to contact Lisa, email her at Lisa@SalvereHealthAndFitness.com or call her at (410) 707-0055.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Salvere Blog: The All or None Approach??”

  1. amandaturner612 Says:

    I have absolutely fallen victim to this- I think because it makes me feel like I have control over my weight. Like, “I’ll lose weight as long as I have zero sugar,” or “I’ll lose weight as long as I have zero carbs.” UGH!

Leave a Reply

