The Event a Month Journey

This year started with a personal goal of one event per month for the entire year.  Looking forward to this journey, I mapped out a few events and started the planning process.  January, great event… The Frozen Finger Five Miler — More like the frozen snot event but COLD none the less.  Then February came and things started what felt like a down hill fall… The blizzards came first so no event.  March started with two events planned, then came the innocent basketball game and a severely sprained ankle!  My first injury EVER and the test of mental toughness began.

Here we are in December… thirteen events total for the year!!!!  Including two half ironman bike legs (thats 56 miles), a duathlon (run bike run), a half marathon (13.1 miles), a relay marathon (7 miles), several 5 milers and numerous 5K’s.  While the injury made it’s presence known several times throughout the year, the process came with many lessons.  It challenged my competitiveness, taught me to sit still for a few minutes, helped me learn to modify my goals based on life and that I could accomplish what I set my mind on.

Challenge yourself!!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

